Dollar Academy Parents' Association Monday 11th September 2023 Minutes of The Meeting

Present:

Pamela Corsar (Acting Chair) Sheena Hall

Suzanne Edmond
Marie Munday
Sheena Gray (Thrift Shop Convenor)

Shona Waddell Laura Crouch

Rebecca McFarlane

Lorna Cameron (Secretary)
Robin Pyper (Deputy Rector)

Morven Cadell Craig Anderson Oliver Pearce Clare Seeruttun Angela King

Apologies received from Ben McCosh, Claire Johnstone, Clare Silcock and Rhona Nataraja

1. Introduction, welcome

Pamela welcomed everyone to the meeting and a warm welcome was expressed to Robin Pyper, the school's new Deputy Rector and who has succeeded Simon Burbury in the role and as a result now sits on DAPA

2. Introduction & FIDA fundraising support (Rebecca McFarlane)

Rebecca McFarlane (fundraiser) joined the meeting to introduce herself and to ask DAPA for support in fundraising endeavours.

- Different levels of fundraising support for events throughout the year including an event at Christmas and sports weekend
- Working group with DAPA to be established to ensure engagement and communication with the wider school body
- Suggestion made to issue a 'save the date' for the event in December

3. Minutes of the last meeting

Minutes of the last meeting (24th April 2023) were reviewed and accepted. OP ratified the minutes and MM seconded them. These can be now published on the school DAPA website page.

4. Updates

Chairman's Report and Matters arising combined (Pamela)

Who is and what does DAPA do?

- Need branding and promotion
- More requests for DAPA over last 2 years
- Letter to go to parents to raise the profile of DAPA
- Target specific year groups for representation across Prep/Junior/Form School
- Need to establish who we are and plans for webpage in advance of outward communication



- Proposal on format and style of communication (Laura, Lorna and Craig)
- Proposal to build on what DAPA is (is not) and share at AGM (Pamela)
- Share list of who is who on the committee and what year groups children are in
- At the October AGM, propose we move the timing of the AGM to summer term which means all new committee members/office bearers are in place for the new school year
- Proposed and agreed to have 2 DAPA meetings a term
- There will be minimum attendance requirements of committee members
- It would be advantageous to seek representation of a parent from the boarding community
- Request from the school for future event dates requiring DAPA support
- o Request for Charities committee annual calendar
- DAPA email account to be managed by Craig and Lorna
- Website who we are and what we want to be/do? (Angela)

Treasurer and Thrift Shop update

- For academic year 2022/23, The Thrift Shop was open 28 days and made sales of £22,564
- Total bids paid for the year totalled £18,442,22 which included a Marimba, a golf simulator, novels for J2 pupils transitioning into S1 and books for the Latin club.
- So far this year, The Thrift Shop has been open 5 days and has taken £7,242.
- There is £9,261.15 in the bank, of which £5,197.20 is due to be paid out.

Governors Report (Oli)

 24th of May 2023 was last meeting of the academic year FIDA planning permission granted Date of next meeting November 22nd 2023

5. AOB

- Robin expressed his desire to understand purpose of DAPA and to ensure a collaborative approach with the school
- Date of AGM Monday 30th October in Captains Room. Communication to be sent out 4 weeks in advance
- Form 1 parents evening DAPA support Suzanne Edmond, Sheena Hall and Marie Munday

6. Date of next meeting

The next committee meeting will be held on Tuesday 28th November 2023 at 6.30pm

The meeting closed at 20:15 hrs.

Membership

Ben McCosh (on 2021 off 2024)

Suzanne Edmond (on 2019, off 2023)

Claire Silcock (on 2019, off 2023)

Elizabeth Porter (on 2020, off 2023)

Oli Pearce (on 2020, off 2023)

Lorna Cameron (on 2020, off 2023)

Morven Cadell (on 2020, off 2023)

Pamela Corsar (on 2021, off 2024)

Marie Munday (on 2022, off 2025)

Clare Seeruttun (on 2022, off 2025)

Sheena Gray (on 2022, off 2025)

Sheena Hall (on 2022, off 2025)

Laura Crouch (on 2022, off 2025)

Craig Anderson (on 2022, off 2025)

Tony Mills (on 2022, off 2025)

Clare Johnstone (on 2023)

Shona Waddell (on 2021, off 2024)

Mark Bancroft (on 2021, off 2024)

Lesley Shepherd (on 2022, off 2025)

Angela King (on 2022, off 2025)

Co-opted member Rhona Nataraja (on 2022)

